My 21st Birthday Party

Qu’est-ce qui se passe

This past Saturday I celebrated my 21st birthday at my house. I started giving out invitations during the last week of July. I felt like this gave enough people some free time to mark it in their calendar. Based off past experience, it’s a good strategy to invite your current friends and acquaintances.

21st birthday1

 

My Wasted EFFORT

I made two playlists for this party and they wear barely used. I was supposed to be in my basement playing my American playlist on Spotify. On Sunday my Dad told me that the basement would be reserved for me.  Surprisingly , I had to pickup a guest from the Ronald Reagan Airport right before the party.

As soon as I walked downstairs I hear Caribbean music being played around all his friends and family. I decided to brush that off and move on to other duties. I got my outfit ready asap. My outfit immediately reminded me of the O.G Men in Black.

I went back to the main floor to set up the American Playlist and it worked out ok. A few songs later my playlist was changed to Afrobeat’s . I immediately remember that Censored Alternative rock and rap doesn’t really appeal to grown African people. My sister would have never heard my playlist if I was downstairs.

playlist1

Americanplaylist2

 

 

About midway through the party, my African playlist was starting to be played. A little French rap and soukous was played in the beginning. I sat down when the Afrobeat’s started and they continued to play. Around 11:20 I requested a transition in music genre. There was a light transition around midnight but the rest of the songs were not played.

Gratitude

I really grateful for this opportunity to reconnect with many of the people who have seen me grown for years and years.  Overall I would say that 50% of the people I invited showed up. There is no hard feelings for people who didn’t show. Me and others are all going through something called….LIFE.

These people weren’t forced to come. They decided to use that time out of their day to be at my event. In my freshman year I would be sitting alone and wishing for a group/ person to communicate with.

21st birthday3

I been giving thanks to God though all my circumstances. I been continuously tested and tested. Letting the peace of Christ rule in my heart. Our hearts is like treasure to God. In every way and everywhere , accept God with all gratitude.

Hitting the Brick Wall

On this night I was battling with bitterness and loneliness. It was 11:45pm and my friends have already left. The best choice was to listen to scriptures through YouTube .Second, I sat in the car and played positive radio songs. It was very easy. God always leads us to success . And through God’s followers , the aura of knowledge goes all around the world.

As of today, I am willing to confirm this group of friends right here. I invited my longtime friends from middle school and high school. I told them I was going to give out a speech at 10:20pm . They weren’t even there for all of my speeches and they weren’t present for our dance songs later on.

21st birthday2

 

I was easily reminded that people will come and go out of our lives. I don’t need to feel bitter out people. You and I need to simply seek the kingdom first and good things will be added on to us. I bet you in about 3 to 5 years from now, we will feel grateful for going through these trials.

 

Any Changes

   –   Run Your Own Playlists!

The DJ was on time and I like the way he fuses the songs together. The next time I have a party, I am definitely running my own playlist. I’m not booking a DJ. In the beginning of the party I just doing simple dance moves because the DJ hasn’t reached the heart of the list. During the intro, my Dad was convincing me to do more moves and after the party he made a joke about it.

All African guys are not passionate about dancing. Nobody can turn me into a dancing monkey. It’s mostly woman that attempt to do this. Sometimes I have my moments were I breakout and dance. However, this is very rare.

  Brush up on people skills/Find 1-2 more clubs.

I was being so passive with the party plans a few weeks ago. I wasn’t even that busy.I attend a few meetings at the French club.

I was planning on inviting a few people from  there. There’s two reasons why this didn’t happen. First, I was still picking up shifts from work .Secondly,  I have a weird habit of preparing my language skills a few hours before the meeting.  If I don’t prepare enough then I don’t show up.

I don’t like how people use Alcohol to gain charisma. I’m sure we have seen many  charming people who don’t drink. People don’t want to put in the work to improve their people skills. Drinking multiple glasses of alcohol makes everything more difficult. It makes driving harder, playing sports, going to church and a few other things.

In the end, most of my major requirements were met for this party. This was my first time hosting a party as an adult. I wasn’t looking for a Project X type of party. God and the family came through and supported me. Have you had any memorable parties? Feel free to share.

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment